Top Ten Tuesday: Readalikes (or For People Who Liked X Author)

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created over at The Broke and the Bookish. Each week they post a new Top Ten list and everyone is invited to share their answers. If you’re interested, head on over to The Broke and the Bookish to take a peek at upcoming Top Ten Topics.

This week’s topic: Top Ten Books I’d Recommend to Someone Who Liked X Author

Perhaps my favorite topic EVER. Instead of doing ten books for one author, I’m just going to do a couple for some of my favorites authors/series…hope that’s OK :)

If you like Diana Gabaldon’s Outlander series, I recommend A Discovery of Witches by Deborah Harkness and Overseas by Beatriz Williams (the latter is based just on the book description, but I really want to read it!).

If you like Charlaine Harris’ Sookie Stackhouse series, I recommend the Kitty Norville series by Carrie Vaughn. (More Sookie readalikes here)

If you like Elizabeth Peters’ Amelia Peabody series, I recommend Gail Carriger’s Parasol Protectorate series. (Alexia is like Amelia with a twist.)

If you like Malcolm Gladwell’s writings, I recommend Quiet by Susan Cain, The Power of Habit by Charles Duhigg, and Imagine by Jonah Lehrer.

If you like George R.R. Martin’s Song of Ice & Fire series, I recommend The Inheritance Trilogy by N.K. Jemisin and The Kingkiller Chronicle by Patrick Rothfuss (I would also recommend Rothfuss to Harry Potter fans).

If you enjoyed Bossypants by Tina Fey, I recommend Let’s Pretend This Never Happened by Jenny Lawson. (More books by Funny Ladies here)

If you like Margaret Atwood’s novels, I recommend When She Woke by Hillary Jordan and The Age of Miracles by Karen Thompson Walker.

If you enjoyed American Wife by Curtis Sittenfeld, I recommend Shine Shine Shine by Lydia Netzer.

If you enjoyed Ready Player One by Ernest Cline, I recommend Alif the Unseen by G. Willow Wilson. Alif isn’t as nostalgia heavy as RPO, but it gives a few short waves to geekery.

If you like Sandra Dallas’ novels, I recommend These Is My Words by Nancy Turner.

If you like The Walking Dead (TV series & graphic novels), I recommend The Newsflesh Trilogy by Mira Grant and World War Z by Max Brooks.

OK…so I went way over. Can’t wait to see what everyone else recommends!

0 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Readalikes (or For People Who Liked X Author)”

  1. Lawson’s book is perfect for people who loved Bossypants! I also think I’ll check out Quiet by Susan Cain because of your recommendation. I enjoy Gladwell’s books.

  2. LOVE this list! I love George R>R. Martin’s series – and I’ve only read 1 book by Jemisin, The Kingdom of Gods, which I loved! I’ll definitely be reading more from her. Ready Player One was so good – and I’ve been meaning to read the Putlander series forever – must get to it this year!

  3. Thus far I’ve not read Martin, but I do have Rothfuss on my to-read-very-soon list! I’m excited to give him a try.

    Thanks for coming by my blog! :)

  4. Great job on this list. I am really hoping to read The Power of Habit and Quiet soon. I’m also a big fan of funny lady memoirs. Thanks for the recommendations.

Leave a Reply