Reading: Fantastic Fall Reads 2018

Life has been BUSY.

Anbolyn and I presented our Fall Reads way back in September and I never got around to sharing them here. Life with seven cats, a little kid, and a spouse can really fill up your time, right? I’m disappointed with myself for not sharing these sooner because there are some real gems in this batch. Our next presentation will be in early June; let me know if you want specifics.

There is a bright-side to my severe delay in sharing my Fall Picks…you can buy or borrow ALL of these titles RIGHT NOW!

Miss Kopp Just Won’t Quit by Amy Stewart

kopp
Lady cop Constance Kopp’s position as a deputy sheriff is on the line as the election for a new sheriff draws near.

Review on Goodreads

Tiny Tidbits:

  • Fourth book in the series
  • Based on real people! Find out more about the world of Constance Kopp on Amy Stewart’s website

Readalikes:

  • Jacqueline Winspear’s Maisie Dobbs series
  • Mitford Murders series by Jessica Fellowes
  • Historical Mysteries

An Absolutely Remarkable Thing by Hank Green

hankgreen
A young woman becomes an overnight celebrity when she uploads a video introducing Carl to the Internet.

Review on Goodreads

Tiny Tidbits:

  • Debut novel from Vlogger Hank Green
  • Brother of successful author John Green
  • Not “young adult” (I’ve got nothing against YA, but it’s a WILDLY overused “genre”)

Readalikes:

  • Mr Penumbra’s 24-hour Bookstore by Robin Sloan
  • Ready Player One by Ernest Cline
  • Newsflesh Trilogy by Mira Grant
  • Paradox Bound by Peter Clines

One Day in December by Josie Silver

december
A love story following the intertwined stories of two people who share a glance at a bus stop one random December day.

Review on Goodreads

Tiny Tidbits:

Readalikes:

  • Something Borrowed by Emily Giffin
  • Maybe In Another Life by Taylor Jenkins Reid
  • One Day by David Nicholls

The Travelling Cat Chronicles by Hiro Arikawa

cat
Saturo, and his cat Nana, travel together in his silver van to visit three of his longtime friends.

Review on Goodreads

Tiny Tidbits:

Readalikes:

  • The Alchemist by Paulo Coelho
  • Tuesdays with Morrie by Mitch Albom
  • The Art of Racing in the Rain by Garth Stein
  • Life of Pi by Yann Martell

Little by Edward Carey

little
An unforgettable story of an orphan befriended by royalty and radicals who grows up to become Madame Tussaud.

Review on Goodreads

Tiny Tidbits:

  • Edward Carey also illustrated the novel

Readalikes:

  • Every Heart a Doorway by Seanan McGuire
  • The Buried Giant by Kazua Ighiguro
  • Confessions of an Ugly Stepsister by Gregory Maguire

A Ladder to the Sky by John Boyne

ladder
Maurice Swift is handsome, charming, and hungry for success. The one thing he doesn’t have is talent – but he’s not about to let a detail like that stand in his way.

Review on Goodreads

Tiny Tidbits:

Readalikes:

  • The Talented Mr Ripley by Patricia Highsmith
  • You by Caroline Kepnes
  • Kitchens of the Great Midwest by J Ryan Stradal

Empire of Sand by Tasha Suri

empire
A nobleman’s daughter with magic in her blood and an empire built on the dreams of enslaved gods.

Review on Goodreads

Tiny Tidbits:

  • First in a new fantasy series

Readalikes:

  • The Queen of the Tearling by Erika Johansen
  • Spinning Silver by Naomi Novik
  • The Goblin Emperor by Katherine Addison
  • The Hundred Thousand Kingdoms by NK Jemisin

The Adults by Caroline Hulse

adults
Two divorced parents. Their daughter. Their new partners. A weeklong holiday together.

Review on Goodreads

Tiny Tidbits:

  • Debut novel!

Readalikes:

  • Seven Days of Us by Francesca Hornak
  • Truly Madly Guilty by Liane Moriarty
  • The Vacationers by Emma Straub

The Dreamers by Karen Thompson Walker

dreamers
An ordinary town is transformed by a mysterious illness that triggers perpetual sleep.

Review on Goodreads

Tiny Tidbits:

  • Second novel from Karen Thompson Walker.
  • If you haven’t read her first novel The Age of Miracles, GO READ IT RIGHT NOW!

Readalikes:

  • The Afterlives by Thomas Pierce
  • All Our Wrong Todays by Elan Mastai
  • Station Eleven by Emily St John Mandel

Holy Lands by Amand Sthers

holylands
An epistolary novel about a dysfunctional family struggling to love and accept each other.

Review on Goodreads

Tiny Tidbits:

  • In 2011, the French government named Sthers a Chevalier (Knight) in the Ordre des Arts et des Lettres
  • (I totally picked this one because of the dancing pigs on the cover)

Readalikes:

  • The Divorce Papers by Susan Rieger
  • The Lawgiver by Herman Wouk
  • They May Not Mean to, But They Do by Cathleen Schine
  • The Nest by Cynthia D’Aprix Sweeney

Fall Reads 2018

 

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s